Day 197

A Nightly Inquiry

 

She comes to me

always at night

ceaselessly asking

questions anew

 

Tears streaking

Her messy mascara

Running away

From her dreams

 

Seeking refuge

Within my arms

To feel the warmth

Enter her being

 

With watery eyes

She asks me

Once again

“What do you want”

 

I gaze

deep

within her eyes

and reply

 

“I want not

your best

for you give

that to stranger.

 

What I want

instead

is your

very worst,

 

That which

you would keep

always for

yourself.

 

I want

you to share

that with me.

To trust.

 

That is

all my heart

desires from

you, honey.”

Leave a Reply

