Day 273

Badges of  Honor

 

The badges of honor I wear

boldly without a single care

earned through pain and strife

for life without them is rare

Holding on the the pain in life

Some are earned by the knife

Leaving brazen marks upon the skin

Allows others to see the value of life

Some of my badges are earned within

Searing my heart with burning poison

It’s final resolution is only to deceive

Befuddling my thoughts with toxic sin

The scars I wear are what I receive

For the hard lessons pain conceive

The badges of honor are what I wear

To show the world that still believe

And truly for me, that’s all I care

Leave a Reply

