The Path of the Artist

Three Precious Jewels

 

I carry three precious jewels

with me wherever I may go

 

Though often I give them away

to strangers I meet along my path

 

And sometimes I loose them due to my wrath

or they are taken from me by people astray

 

When I look through my pockets and feel their glow

I see again my three precious jewels

 

The first I pull out is filled with red

taking it to my eye to see fractures of light

 

Reflecting back on me I am filled anew

for this jewel I have is the jewel of love

 

It came not from the lands above

but rather from within were love dwells too

 

The wisdom gained claims everyone’s right

to feel loved and to give until their heart is fed

 

The second shines forth as the sun

Sending golden light to all who see

 

Transmitting false sights to true sights

Allowing people to learn earth’s truth

 

Filling in the warmth and biting with a tooth

A chip falls form the jewel with a fright

 

I pick it up and look with animated glee

Now I can give truth to a stranger on the run

 

The third stone I have is sparkling green

It sends shimmering light all around

 

Filling the world with nature’s sight

Turning the heavens to creation’s home

 

Looking through the jewel I see life’s tome

Seeing beauty is the viewer’s holy right

 

Finding in the end that earth is beauty abound

And can be had by all when perceptions lean

 

Everywhere I traipse I follow  my heart

performing actions for friends not yet met

 

Carrying always within my precious jewels

freely giving them away for they will be renewed

 

Trusting in their power to forgive any feud

Enlivens the heart with unending fuels

 

To look around and see beauty, truth and love set

Is the path of the artist to create their art

Leave a Reply

