Alone, I Walked

Walking Alone

 

Alone I walked

late in the evening

only to see a sacred sight

a man bent down crying

 

Tentatively I approached

not wanting to intrude

ever increasing my patience

each step widened with time

 

One step away

he looked up at me

with tear stained cheeks

and asked for a shoulder

 

Coming still closer

my anxious desire subsided

I embrace him and gave

exactly as he wanted

 

“forgive me stranger,

for I am merely

the guilty saint, taking

life to preserve life.”

 

Lowering his head

he began to cry again

and I, I did my best

to give him my heart and love.

(for it is through love

that all is forgiven)

Leave a Reply

