Despairing Love

Love’s Despair

 

I was chained

– locked away in despair

always by fearful depression

 

I saw love

– wildly dancing

alighting the world holy

 

I tasted but little of the ravages she left

omitted and my heart became inflamed anew

 

Frantically I tore off my shackles leaving

a bloody mess and a wounded, dying appendage

 

Love asked me

– when she looked so dear

What took you so long?

 

Love looked again

– “I have been mad with fever

for the lack of you being near.”

 

Come close to me now, the time has been spent enough

in loneliness and wanton pain to not feel your touch now

 

I looked deeply in love’s eyes, “I’m incredibly sorry

but the ego was harder than I thought to cut off.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

